La Douleur Exquise – A Lost Dedication

I’ve seen the sun rising, and I’ve seen it go down;

But your beautiful face hasn’t alighted upon my eyes yet.

The darkness overwhelming, I couldn’t bear to think not,

about the sleepless night that lay awake before me.

Beheld, I surely did, in my dreams many a nights back,

But to behold you, my dream, I could not yet.

The light has come, and passed away –

The light that shows my path to you.

Where can I now grope towards in the darkness?

But in my mind’s eye, I can see you, yes,

the same light shining brighter than ever, like a flame.

Like a flame being tried to be suppressed by the winds.

And you have come, like the sweet refreshing breeze of spring,

that thaws the cold frozen heart with hope and love.

but flew past, just as fast as I tried to breathe in.

And soon, another night will pass, as I stare

into the darkness, at your reflection in the open space.

In the moon, I see you, yes. But it is the sunshine

that makes me want to look into those depths.

Those depths where I see myself – Your eyes!

Hope drives me, the hope that the sun will rise again,

as it lights my path, showing you nearer,

an all encompassing light that fills

my heart with love and my soul with joy –

The light that fills me with you!

*La Douleur Exquise (French): The heart-wrenching pain of wanting someone you can’t have.

La douleur exquise gets at the emotional heartache, specifically, of being the one whose love is unreciprocated.

Leave a Reply

